While I Was Down

While I was down

I bought a new white down

Because if I’m going to be down

I at least want the alternative, comfort

Oversized, plush

King fit for a full

Inherited from my grandma who

Shared her love of butter pecan and baseball

Her form of comfort

But this bed is real wood

Probably came from Woolworth’s on Crater Road

So it’ll never break

I’ll never break

She’d cover it with crochet

Then kneel down and pray

But while I was down

I bought a new white down comforter

One with a subtle square print

Because I can’t stand inside the box

Which now that I think about it

That’s probably why I’m down

And why my toes peek out to be free

Leave a Reply

