Dear Justice

Dear Justice,

 

It is the eve of Mother’s Day 2014. And as nightfall approaches, I am overwhelmed with countless thoughts of gratitude. But above all things, I am grateful to be your mother. Your mere 2 years and 8 months of existence has already transformed my life. I should have known when I became short of breath during your arrival that the master plan was for you to continuously knock me off of my feet.

 

Everyday, you push me—NO, force me—to become a better mother, daughter, teacher and friend. Because of you, I live better. I laugh more. I love deeply. So, I wanted to take the time while I am blessed and able to tell you why I love you so.

 

Justice, you are a Risk-taker.

  • You show no fear. From waving to complete strangers to climbing the tallest playground fixture to running out of stores and into traffic. Your “Heremakhet” is already proving to be more developed than my own. Do not lose that along the way. Take risks in life and in love. It will make you wise and empathetic. Refuse to let fear dominate your life. Be bold.

 

Justice, you are Curious.

  • My goodness. Where do I even begin? You have a wicked ability to observe. You take notice of everything. From the number of flowers out front to every crack in the sidewalk. Sometimes it takes 30 minutes to walk 3 blocks because you have the urge to stop and stare at everything. These days it is not uncommon to hear you say, ”What’s this?” New sounds, new sights and new sayings fascinate you. There is so much for you to learn. I promise to always answer, lead you to the answer or motivate you to find the answer to all of your amazing questions yet to come.

 

Justice, you are Loving.

  • You are capable of giving and receiving love. Often times, it’s a hug from your friend Ca’Ryn or a kiss from me to you. You even give your grandparents fist bumps and high-fives. I want you to know that your early years were surrounded with affection. I did not shy away from demonstrating how to start and end each day with showing love to the people you love the most. Remember, it’s not a girl versus boy thing. Do not fall into that trap. Love is a human thing.

 

I’ve only chosen to highlight a few things I love about you in this letter today. But it is definitely worth mentioning that you are also: tenacious, joyful, imaginative, confident and energetic. And I look forward to seeing you become: independent, trustworthy, thoughtful, disciplined and altruistic. This is a narrative I have constructed for you. As you get older, you will begin to construct then deconstruct and reconstruct your own narrative. I hope that as your story unfolds, one day you will have the opportunity to experience the same love and gratitude I have at this very moment.

 

Forever your mommy,

 

Demetria Giles

 

P.S.—Peace, patience and progress.

 

 

Feel like sharing your thoughts? Comment on the blog or email me at Demetria.giles@gmail.

Leave a Reply

